summer

I’ve thought a lot lately about living in the woods and why I love it so much. It’s true that the trees and the shade they provide keep our house cool in the summer. It’s true that it is often quiet, peaceful and relaxing. It’s true that there is a lot to see. But, I think that I most appreciate that it is alive. Some people crave the excitement of the city or even the suburban areas of the country. I’ll even admit that I miss authentic ethnic restaurants. But in living here in the woods I gain so much. I get to watch nature as a system. As leaves burst forth in the Spring, birds return and nest, and insects swarm just in time to feed the returning birds. Nature is a beautiful system that works to keep life, well, living. I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else!

Enjoy your day and
Keep Smiling! 🙂

2 Responses to “summer”

  1. I don’t live “in” the woods per se, but I do live rurally and our home is surrounded by wooded areas, so I understand the appeal. I love the quietness and serenity of living in the midst of nature. We did have to take our bird feeders down, as we do every spring, because of the bears, so there are fewer birds close to the house, but I can still hear them in the trees. Your photo is so sweet!

Leave a Reply

